8th All-Media Juried Biennial – Press Release

Posted on Jan 23, 2017 in Exhibitions- group, Press Release | No Comments

Dana Hargrove is taking part in The Art and Culture Center, Hollywood, Florida, 8th All-Media Juried Biennial, on exhibit from January 21st- March 5th, 2017.

This exhibition explores themes of identity, kitsch, performance, temporality, and the processes of 62 Florida artists from across the state. Juried by Katherine Pill and curated by Laura Marsh, the exhibition is intended to capture the diverse practices of regional contemporary artists. Exploring a range of mediums, the Biennial introduces interdisciplinary dialogues.

Featuring 77 works, Florida artists selected by juror Katherine Pill, Curator of Contemporary Art at the Museum of Fine Arts, St. Petersburg, this year’s Biennial is diverse and immersive. Overall, 391 artists representing 85 cities submitted entries for consideration.

Juror Katherine Pill is Curator of Contemporary Art at the Museum of Fine Arts, St. Petersburg, Florida. She previously held the position of Assistant Curator at the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art in Kansas City, Missouri. Pill earned a BA in Art History from McGill University in Montreal and a dual MA in Art History and Arts Administration from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Laura Marsh was named Curator of Exhibitions at the Art and Culture Center this past October of 2016. She previously held the position of Director of Seton Gallery at the University of New Haven, CT. Marsh earned a BFA in Painting from the Cleveland Institute of Art, OH and her MFA in Sculpture from Yale University, CT. She has an installation practice and has been curating for over seven years.

Biennial Artists:

Kate Alboreo
Caitlin Albritton
Nathalie Alfonso
Shirley Anger
Eddie Arroyo
Michael Bauman
Nathan Beard
Linda Behar
Enid Blechman
Luca Brunozzi
Giannina Coppiano Dwin
Gina Cunningham
Susan Delconte
William Douglas
Jenna Efrein
Joana Fischer
Ben Galaday
Diana Garcia
Bonney Goldstein
Isabel Gouveia
Dana Hargrove
Alex Ibsen
Carol Jazzar
Karla Kantorovich
Steven Kenny
Mally Khorasantchi
Bahareh Khoshooee
Sarah Knouse
Dominique Labauvie
Jefreid Lotti
Amanda Madrigal
Roberto Marquez
Noelle Mason
Kyoko Matsuyama
Juana Meneses
Melanie Metz
Jennifer Miller
Vincent Miranda
Erica Mohan
Aurora Molina
Ben Morey
Richard Munster
Rick Newton
Jee Park
Rudy Perez
Vickie Pierre
Jonathan Rockford
Krystal Rodriguez
Selina Roman
Gretchen Scharnagl
Gary Schmitt
Lauren Shapiro
Ali Shrago-Spechler
Carmen Smith
Kristen Thiele
Ana Trevino
Alex Trimino
Alejandro Valencia
Jill Weisberg
Matthew Wicks
Antonia Wright
Alex Zastera

Leave a Reply